Justia Lawyer Rating
TACDL Badge
Tennessee Bar Association Badge
AVVO client's choice award 2017 Badge
Nashville Bar Association Badge
AVVO Rating 10.0 Badge
Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association Badge
National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers Badges

Arson

Sometimes a fire gets out of hand and light someone’s prized petunias on fire. Sometimes throwing oil on an open flame during a BBQ gets out of hand and burns a house down. Other times you burned your ex’s house down in drunken dispute and are now facing charges of arson. At the Law Offices of Amanda Gentry, we have seen such situations and know how to handle them with an experienced approach to tend to the situation and a straightforward honestly that helps us get a clear understanding of the situation.

What is Arson?

According to § 39-14-301 are:

  1. Someone knowingly set fire to someone’s property and:
    1. Does so without the owner’s permission or
    2. Did it trying to collect insurance on it
What is the Penalty for Arson?

This is considered a Class C felony which means:

  1. A Sentencing Range of 3-15 years and
  2. A Maximum Fine of $10,000

Doing so to a place of worship such as a church or mosque makes it a Class B felony meaning:

  1. Range 8-30 years
  2. Max $25,000
What Happens if I Light My Neighbor’s Petunias on Fire?

You would be charged with a charge of setting fire to personal property or land according to § 39-14-303 which means:

  1. Someone knowingly destroys another person’s property using fire or explosives and
    1. Has not been given permission to or
    2. Intended to do it for something illegal
What is the Penalty for This?

This is considered a Class E felony:

  1. Range 1-6 years
  2. Max $3,000
What is Aggravated Arson?

The elements of aggravated arson according to § 39-14-302 are:

  1. One commits either of the types of arson mentioned above (Arson of Personal Property and Arson of Structures) and
    1. More then one person is present for it or
    2. Anybody is seriously injured due to the fire
What is the Penalty for Aggravated Arson?

This is a Class A felony meaning it is on par with second degree murder and:

  1. Range 15-60 years
  2. Max $50,000
What if I Did Not Intend to Hurt Anyone and or Anything and Still Burned Down the House?

You could be charged with reckless burning if things “got out of hand” and is a Class A misdemeanor with:

  1. Max Sentence of 11 months and 2 days and
  2. Max Fine of $2,500
Client Reviews
★★★★★
Amanda is a great lawyer and person. She is quick, professional and affordable. I have referred her as well as used her as a hired lawyer. I will continue to refer her. She's the only lawyer I refer to people anymore due to I've had bad luck with other lawyers I have used. Nathan Curl
★★★★★
Amanda is a Lawyer and she will Lawyer the system so hard on your behalf. If the Rock had stuck with wrestling, instead of selling out to Hollywood, he would also recommend her. Jack Wall
★★★★★
Amanda is a hardworking and dedicated attorney. I highly recommend her for criminal cases and family law. She goes above and beyond for her clients. Tracie Reeves
★★★★★
Amanda has been great. She is very understanding and actually cares about her clients. Jim Corley
★★★★★
I'm probably her most problematic client and she hasn't fired me yet regardless of my shenanigans. Brook Jolley
★★★★★
The only attorney I have stored in my phone. Josh Spangler